Australian Rugby League Commission

Full Member

Website: View Australian Rugby League Commissions Website

Formed in 2012, the Australian Rugby League Commission is the governing body for Rugby League in Australia. It sets the overall strategic direction for the game and works to ensure that the administration across all levels of Rugby League can meet the demands of being a modern, professional and well governed sport. It has responsibility for funding the game at all levels and helping the game to grow and foster both in Australia and internationally.

The role of the ARLC is to be the single controlling body and administrator of Rugby League in Australia. It has responsibilities for fostering, developing and funding the game from the junior to the elite levels.

The ARLC also organises the NRL competition, the State of Origin and Australian representative matches and works with international the Rugby League International Federation and other Rugby League bodies to foster Rugby League throughout the world.

Recognising the significance and profile of Rugby League in communities all across Australia, the ARLC also has a commitment to promote the welfare of young people, the Rugby League community and their interests.

The Australian Rugby League Commission is made up of eight independent Commissioners. They are not officers of the National Rugby League, an NRL Club or a Rugby League State or Territory body.Each year Commissioners elect one member to be the ARLC Chairman.

The National Rugby League runs the world’s premier Rugby League competition comprising of 17 teams (16 from Australia and one from New Zealand).

The NRL Telstra Premiership attracts about three million people to its matches each year with more than 100 million viewers on television. The NRL has more Facebook fans than any other sport in the country.

The NRL is also responsible for the Australian Kangaroos (male) and Jillaroos (female) representative teams, the annual three-match State of Origin series between New South Wales and Queensland, the NRL Nines, and the NRL Touch Football affiliation.

The State of Origin series is Australia’s greatest sporting rivalry and regularly ranks as Australia’s highest rating television program.

The NRL proudly supports the largest and most comprehensive community relations program in Australian sport, known as NRL Community. It provides a platform for Rugby League to drive powerful social change with a particular focus on children and young people.

Through current and former NRL players, it uses the reach and scope of the NRL to deliver community programs, health and education messages and promote inclusiveness and diversity.